Review: Mr. Bungle - The Night They Came Home (2021)


The crazy Mr. Bungle is back, this time with a live album. 
Wait, don't you know this band? Well, it's a project by the crazy head Mike Patton with Trevor Dunn on bass (already with him in Fantomas), Trey Spruance on guitar, and two big hits like Scott Ian and Dave Lombardo that I think need no introduction, right? This The Night They Came Home is a live album captured from the streaming show held last year.

This live album (released in both audio and video format) is focused on the performance of the album The Raging Wrath Of The Easter Bunny Demo, plus many little gems that you can browse through the tracklist that I leave you at the bottom of the page. One above all is the double cover Hell Awaits / Summer Breeze which shows how histrionic and versatile the band is. But speaking of covers, also keep an eye on the final one, Loss of control, not a very famous (but no less successful) song by Van Halen.

If you want an idea of ​​how the video format of this publication is, I post you the video at the bottom of the page of the beautiful Eracist where you can admire Mike Patton in a horrible look and one of the characters that struck me most on stage, Mr. Scott Ian who always seems to enjoy every single note of every single performance to the fullest. Really a great attitude, his. Speaking of Scott Ian, I really like the fact that the two guitars of this live album are placed in a separate channel, to always have a clear idea of ​​who is playing what. I also like the overall sound a lot, but perhaps the fact that it was a streaming concert made life a lot easier for those who worked on the sounds.

Definitely a great release, with Mr. Bungle in great shape and Mike Patton always giving that touch of madness that we like so much.

01 Won’t You Be My Neighbor (Fred Rogers cover)
02 Anarchy Up Your Anus
03 Raping Your Mind
04 Bungle Grind
05 Methematics
06 Hell Awaits“/”Summer Breeze (Slayer / Seals & Croft medley/cover)
07 Eracist
08 World Up My Ass (Circle Jerks cover)
09 Glutton For Punishment
10 Hypocrites/Habla Español O Muere (S.O.D. cover)
11 Spreading The Thighs Of Death
12 Loss For Words
13 Sudden Death
14 Loss Of Control (Van Halen cover)

Giovanni Gagliano

Passionate about music I wrote my first article for "Given To Rock" in 2012, reaching now 30K global followers. I am also a musician, gigging around London.

Post a Comment

Previous Post Next Post