Review: Buckcherry - Hellbound (2021)

American rockers Buckcherry just released their new album, Hellbound (follow-up to 2019's Warpaint) written and recorded with the help of the famous producer and songwriter Marti Frederiksen, who has previously collaborated with huge bands like Aerosmith and Def Leppard. 

First thing I like and that I want to mention is the cover: black, totally Rock and with a nice font (Rock as well). I'm always picky with album covers but this one's definitely got my approval.

Another thing I immediately like is the title of the opener: 54321 is a hell of a title, if you ask me. The song is good too and it puts you in a good mood for continuing the album. Punchy and catchy is the single So hott, with a fantastic videoclip (scroll down to the bottom to watch it) highlighting the modern social media era and how superficial we've become. The title track was released as a single as well and it sounds AC/DC to the bone. Maybe a little too much.

Among the other songs, Gun has good vibes but even a strange chorus too. Here I come is a fast song, what I like to hear from bands like Buckcherry and it's definitely one my favourites of the album. Wasting no more time is a sort of a ballad reminding me something from the Slash's Snakepit era. Speaking of ballads, the following one is a proper one (I wrote "sort of" for the previous track) and it's the most relaxing thing you will hear in these 35 minutes, this time with a guitar solo. It still reminds me of Slash Snakepit, though.

Hellbound is a pure straightforward Rock n' roll album with killer guitar riffs and catchy melodies. Nothing that will make history but simply a good Rock record and that's enough for me. Well done, guys.

Rating 70/100
Top tracks: 54321, So Hott, Here I come

01. 54321
02. So Hott
03. Hellbound
04. Gun
05. No More Lies
06. Here I Come
07. Junk
08. Wasting No More Time
09. The Way
10. Barricade

Giovanni Gagliano

Passionate about music I wrote my first article for "Given To Rock" in 2012, reaching now 30K global followers. I am also a musician, gigging around London.

Post a Comment

Previous Post Next Post