Pistols At Dawn - Under the Surface

American hard rock band Pistols At Dawn was established in 2015 by drummer Adam Jaffe, guitarists Devin White, Mike Buffa, and bassist Billy Sullivan. Virtuoso guitarist Buffa unfortunately passed away in 2018, but the band reformed in 2019 and released its debut music globally in early 2020. Early in 2020, Pistols at Dawn released the singles "Cold" and "Gauntlet." Famous producer Jeff Tomei (Smashing Pumpkins/Matchbox 20) produced and engineered the singles at Cock the Walk Studio in Atlanta, Georgia.

This is their new single, called Under the Surface. The song has a slow start before a massive guitar riff kicks in. The rhythm section is very dynamic, as well as the vocals, changing different vocal styles, sometimes clean, some others aggressive. The highlight of the song, in my opinion, is the chorus (totally catchy) but even the instrumental break in the middle of the song is spot on. Great sound, great performance and great song, give Under the Surface a go by clicking on the Spotify player below and don't forget to follow Pistols At Dawn on social media.

Giovanni Gagliano

Passionate about music I wrote my first article for "Given To Rock" in 2012, reaching now 30K global followers. I am also a musician, gigging around London.

Post a Comment

Previous Post Next Post